Sabado, Disyembre 27, 2014

My notes on the MMFF Awards Night 2014

Posted By: Star Powerhouse - Disyembre 27, 2014


& Comment

My notes on the MMFF Awards Night 2014:

1. ABS-CBN's delayed telecast of the MMFF Awards Night is horrible, full of chopped up and rushed thank you speeches of non-ABS artists.
2. Edu Manzano threw some shade by introducing MMDA Chairman Francis Tolentino then referencing the horrendous traffic in EDSA. Haha! I guess we all know who won't be asked to host again next year.
3. Did Robin Padilla just call Eddie Garcia the "Hari ng Pelikulang Pilipino" while accepting the Fernando Poe, Jr. Memorial Award?
4. Robin also promised that a future FPJ movie will be made and it will star Daniel Padilla. It will be the first time a sword will be heavier than Panday.
5. One good thing about this year's festival is that they actually chose deserving nominees unlike in past years where everyone's nominated. And by everyone, I mean they select two to three big name actors per movie and throw them in a list of twenty nominees per acting category.
6. Ohmy, the old lady just thanked the MILF for her husband's recognition.
7. So Antoinette Taus just called Antoinette Jadaone as Antoinette Joan. She's the new John Travolta.
8. Ang bastos lang talaga ng pag-cut ng speeches ng winners. Hindi nila kasalanan na talunan ang Praybeyt Benjamin at Feng Shui.
9. Wasn't it rude to the current government to call him President Mayor Honourable Joseph Estrada? I wonder what Kris had to say about that.
10. Happy to see my favorite performances win this year. There is still hope.
11. I just have to say that Magnum Muslim .357 was robbed!! Of a Best Float win. That is all.

Here's the complete list of this year's winners:

Best Picture: “Bonifacio ang Unang Pangulo”
2nd Best Picture: “English Only Please”
3rd Best Picture: “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Actress: Jennylyn Mercado for "English Only Please"
Best Actor: Derek Ramsay for “English Only Please”
Best Supporting Actress: Lotlot de Leon for “Kubot: Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Supporting Actor: Joey Marquez for “Kubot: Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Child Performer: Ryzza Mae Dizon for “My Big Bossing's Adventures”
Best Director: Dan Villegas for “English Only Please”
Best Screenplay: “English Only Please”
Best Original Story: “English Only Please”
Best Cinematography: Carlo Mendoza for “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Editing: Marya Ignacio for “English Only, Please”
Best Production Design: Ericson Navarro for “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Visual Effects: “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Makeup: “Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2”
Best Original Theme Song: Von de Guzman for “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Musical Score: Von de Guzman “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Festival Sound Engineer: “Bonifacio Ang Unang Pangulo”
Best Float: “Bonifacio Ang Unang Pangulo”
New Wave Best Picture: “Magkakabaung”
New Wave Special Jury Prize: “M: Mother's Maiden Name”
New Wave Best Actor: Allen Dizon “Magkakabaung”
New Wave Best Actress: Zsa Zsa Padilla for “M: Mother's Maiden Name”
New Wave Best Director: Jason Paul Laxamana “Magkakabaung”
New Wave Best Supporting Actor: Kristoffer King for “Maratabat”
New Wave Best Supporting Actress: Gloria Sevilla “M: Mother's Maiden Name”
New Wave Short Film Special Jury Prize: “Kalaw” by Asia Pacific Institute
Special Awards:
Commemorative Award: Manila Mayor Joseph Estrada
Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: “Bonifacio: Ang Unang Pangulo”
FPJ Memorial Award for Film Excellence: “Bonifacio Ang Unang Pangulo"
Youth Choice Award: “Bonifacio Ang Unang Pangulo”
Face of the Night: Nadine Lustre

Wriiten : Jason Javier

About Star Powerhouse

Star Powerhouse started way back in 2011 as an entertainment blog that delivers anything and everything that is happening in the international and local entertainment scene. It also does in-depth reviews of theater plays, tv shows, and upcoming music..

0 (mga) komento:

Mag-post ng isang Komento

Copyright © Star Powerhouse

Designed by Templatezy